Skip to main content
Plan an event
Book your best room to enjoy Berlin
Check In
Check Out

Jim Avignon

I’m Jim, and I’ll be your host during your stay at Hotel Berlin, Berlin. I’ve lived here since 1988, with the exception of a spell in New York. I’m a painter, illustrator, concept artist and occasionally a musician under the pseudonym Neoangin. My trademarks are vibrant colours, unpretentious materials, lightning-fast output and sardonic humour. I’ve even had a mural commissioned for the East Side Gallery, which I controversially repainted over in an organised flash mob in 2013. Check it out if you have time!

I don’t have a studio – most of the time I paint at home in my living room, in my pyjamas. Even better is combining painting with something else, like when I’m on the train or pumping new tunes through my headphones on the beach. Whenever I get on a train, I make a beeline for the nearest table and set up a mobile studio. Berlin, my old and new home, is a recurring motif in my pictures. The city isn’t beautiful in the conventional sense, but it’s always moving, mostly in good humour, and has a penchant for improvisation: Potsdamer Platz in the ‘80s, improvised clubs in unoccupied halls in the ‘90s, Tempelhofer Feld today.

When I came back from New York in 2012, it hit me just how much energy there is in the air here. The city is full of people from all over the world, and most of them don’t come for fame and fortune, but for the experience. Berlin’s the only city I know where you don’t get points for status symbols. That’s something special, and I hope it remains true.

All the best for your trip!

Jim

Check Out The Spots

Skip to main content
Event planen
Buchen Sie Ihr bestes Zimmer um Berlin zu genießen
Check-In
Check-Out

Jim Avignon

Ich bin Jim, und ich bin Ihr Gastgeber während Ihres Aufenthalts im Hotel Berlin, Berlin. Ich lebe seit 1988 hier, mit Ausnahme eines Aufenthaltes in New York. Ich bin Maler, Illustrator, Konzeptkünstler und gelegentlich Musiker unter dem Pseudonym Neoangin. Meine Markenzeichen sind lebhafte Farben, unprätentiöse Materialien, blitzschnelle Ergebnisse und sardonischer Humor. Ich habe sogar ein Wandgemälde für die East Side Gallery in Auftrag gegeben, das ich 2013 in einem organisierten Flashmob kontrovers übermalt habe. Schauen Sie es sich an, wenn Sie Zeit haben!

Ich habe kein Atelier - die meiste Zeit male ich zu Hause in meinem Wohnzimmer, in meinem Pyjama. Noch besser ist es, das Malen mit etwas anderem zu kombinieren, z.B. wenn ich im Zug sitze oder am Strand neue Melodien durch meine Kopfhörer pumpe. Immer wenn ich in einen Zug steige, mache ich mich auf den Weg zum nächsten Tisch und richte mir ein mobiles Studio ein. Berlin, meine alte und neue Heimat, ist ein immer wiederkehrendes Motiv in meinen Bildern. Die Stadt ist nicht schön im herkömmlichen Sinne, aber sie ist immer in Bewegung, meist mit guter Laune, und hat einen Hang zur Improvisation: Potsdamer Platz in den 80er Jahren, improvisierte Clubs in unbesetzten Hallen in den 90er Jahren, Tempelhofer Feld heute.

Als ich 2012 aus New York zurückkam, wurde mir klar, wie viel Energie hier in der Luft liegt. Die Stadt ist voller Menschen aus der ganzen Welt, und die meisten von ihnen kommen nicht wegen Ruhm und Reichtum, sondern wegen des Erlebnisses. Berlin ist die einzige Stadt, die ich kenne, in der man keine Punkte für Statussymbole bekommt. Das ist etwas Besonderes, und ich hoffe, das bleibt auch so.

Alles Gute für Ihre Reise!

Jim

Schau dir diesen Punkt genauer an